Basket

RAPID DISPATCH

Free delivery in France from 150 € of purchase - Secure payment

GIN & TONIC

Discover the history of Gin and Tonic

THE HISTORY OF GIN

Magasin de Gin

Where does Gin come from?

Gin, which today tends to be democratized in many countries, has long had an image due to its “So-British” history which sticks to its skin! And yet ...

The history of Gin begins in Flanders (the present-day Netherlands), in the 17th century under the name of Genever. Its development is often attributed to the chemist and physician Franciscus Sylvius. At the time, it was a brandy made from cereals, generally rye or barley, flavored by maceration of juniper berries which made it possible to mask the defects of a still very coarse distillation. The Flemish Genever served as the initial model for 18th century English Gin.

Who are you ?

It was indeed during the Thirty Years' War (1618-1648) that the English soldiers warring in Holland discovered a new drink that they would soon bring back to England. Genever is commonly consumed as a remedy for heartburn stomach pain, gout or pain from gallstones. The soldiers are also served a glass of it to galvanize them before giving battle, and the English quickly take a liking to this elixir, which they call "Dutch courage" once returned to the country. 

It was in England that this “juniper water” experienced a new boom at the end of the 17th century. It is called "genever" then "jenever" and finally quite simply "gin". The craze for this new alcohol spread beyond soldiers returning from a military campaign in Flanders and was accelerated by the abolition of the monopoly of the London Distillers Guild in 1690 with the Distilling Act.

At a time of religious and political conflict between France and England and in order to limit the importation of French brandy, King William III of Orange passed a series of laws aimed at restricting the importation of brandy and encouraging distillation brandy on English soil. The distillation methods are rudimentary and again, flavoring with juniper berries is a great way to improve the taste quality of eaux-de-vie.

How does Gin evolve?

Gin, which at its inception was used for medicinal purposes quickly becomes recreational… and dangerously addicting. This cheap domestic brandy quickly wreaked havoc among the urban working classes.

For decades, the excessive consumption of poor quality Gin decimated the populations of the poor districts of London in particular. It is the sordid "Gin Craze" (1723-1757), the aptly named "Folie du Gin". In a century, Gin has gone from "Dutch Courage" to "Mother's Ruin" (the bane of mothers).

photo d'un marchand de gin

It was not until the 19th century that Gin acquired its letters of nobility in England. Technological progress (notably with the invention of the Coffey distillation column in 1831) made a qualitative leap in cereal spirits. England, the first European nation to make its industrial revolution, is economically dominant and imports, thanks to its navy, aromatic plants and spices from the four corners of its empire. Gin goes upmarket. The Phylloxera crisis ravaged the vineyards of France and Europe and deprived the British wealthy classes of their favorite aperitif, Brandy & Soda, which Gin & Tonic quickly replaced. Gin then became respectable. Distilleries are rising and growing, mainly in English port cities (like London and Plymouth) where distillers have direct access to spices and a thriving urban market. The great historic British brands of Gin (Plymouth, Tanqueray, Beefeater…) all originate from there.

In the 20th century, Gin began to prosper: progress in distillation gave manufacturers access to a perfectly neutral base alcohol, which no longer needed to be sweetened to mask its imperfections. The style of Gin "London Dry" (see the page "Types of Gin") is essential then, and becomes dominant from the 20s. The rest of the century is chaotic: Prohibition in the United States then the economic crisis of 1929 and the Second World War followed one another. Gin became popular again in the 50s and 60s, an absolute synonym for cocktail style as with the iconic Dry Martini, then slowly declined. The end of the 1990s and the beginning of the 2000s saw the beginnings of a real renaissance of the category, which first took root in Europe and now spreads throughout the world, thanks to the rediscovery of personality and versatility. of this alcohol of great character. 

TYPES OF GIN

But what is a Gin in the end?

alambic cuivre

Gin is a distilled and flavored alcohol, mainly based on neutral alcohol, the predominant flavor of which must be that of juniper. It must be bottled at a minimum of 37.5% vol. What will give this spirit its personality is mainly its flavor (and, more rarely, its alcoholic base if, like some modern gins, it is not distilled from neutral alcohol). The aromatic plants used should always include juniper (whether juniper berries or an extract already distilled). Most gins are made by distilling a bouquet of aromatic plants (including juniper) in an alcohol base (usually neutral). The distillation and infusion techniques vary, but the fundamental principle remains the same: the essential oils loaded with the aromatic principles of the plants are extracted in contact with alcohol (either in the liquid state if the aromatics are macerated directly in the (alcohol, or by the alcohol vapors inside the still if the distiller has chosen the so-called “steam infusion” method) and then collected in the distillate recovered after condensation. Some gins, more rare, are not flavored by distillation (see below), but either by simple infusion or by means of aromatic extracts added to an alcohol base.

There are currently 3 types of Gin defined by European Union legislation:

GIN (without further mention) : mixture of a base alcohol (neutral most of the time, but this is not strictly required by law) and extracts of aromatic plants (including juniper)

DISTILLED GIN : gin obtained by distillation of a base of neutral alcohol and aromatic plants (including juniper), to which extracts and flavors can be added after distillation.

Gins produced by simple maceration (that is to say without re-distillation), very rare, bear the name "Compound Gin" ("mixed gin" in English).

LONDON GIN or LONDON DRY GIN : Distilled gin made from neutral alcohol and aromatic plants (including juniper), to which nothing other than water can be added after distillation to lower the alcoholic degree. A London Gin cannot therefore be flavored or sweetened when it comes out of the still. It is therefore necessarily “dry”. The name "London Gin" does not correspond to a protected geographical indication but to a style of Gin. So you can produce a “London Dry Gin” anywhere in the world, not just in London.

What about other types of Gin?

OLD TOM GIN : It is a style of gin, not strictly defined or recognized by European regulations, inspired by the sweetened gins popular at the end of the 19th century, then supplanted by London Dry Gin (unsweetened, distilled from neutral alcohol from better quality, the imperfections of which it was no longer necessary to mask by a strong sweetening, and thus allowed an aromatic expression of the juniper and the aromatic plants much more precise).

GIN “NAVY STRENGHT” : From the middle of the 17th century, it was common to supply large quantities of spirits on board European ships. Distilled alcohols, unlike wine or beer, do not spoil after a few weeks at sea, and thanks to their antiseptic properties, clean the water on the shore. The British fleet gets its supplies of Gin for the officers.
Spirits on board military ships must have an alcoholic strength allowing the gunpowder to ignite even when soaked in alcohol. This minimum degree is 57% vol., And marks the “proof” threshold in English, thus determining the so-called “overproof” rums (titrating above 57% vol.) And the “Navy Strength” Gins (at the level of the Navy. ).

YELLOW GIN : Yellow Gin is not a name strictly defined in European law. Traditionally, a Yellow Gin is a Gin aged for a few months in oak barrels.

SLOE GIN : Sloe Gin is not technically a Gin, but a Gin-based liqueur. It is made by macerating sloes in gin, sometimes with other aromatic plants, then sweetened before being bottled.

BATHTUB GIN : Term which designates the counterfeit Gin produced at the time of Prohibition in the United States by mixing contraband alcohol and essential oil of juniper.

PINK GIN : Originally Pink Gin was a fashionable cocktail in England in the middle of the 19th century, it owes its name to the dark brown color of Angostura, which, when diluted in gin, offers a color dew in the cocktail… Today, many Gin houses have revived interest in ever more complex flavor combinations by creating their own Pink Gin. It is currently found flavored with rose, strawberry, melon, etc.

THE HISTORY OF TONIC

Récipient portatif pour l'eau de Seltz

Tonic water is also called Tonic. It is above all a soft drink but it also contains quinine, extracted from a shrub. This is what gives it this slightly bitter taste.

Who invented the tonic?

The tonic was invented by the two French pharmacists Pierre-Joseph Pelletier and Joseph Bienaimé Caventou. They were the first to isolate quinine.

Around 1780, Johann Jakob Schweppe, a Swiss watchmaker and chemistry enthusiast, found a method to charge water with carbon dioxide. A reaction is made by stirring chalk and sulfuric acid. Gas is thus obtained, then recovered and placed in a heated tank. While heating, the mixture is stirred to create pressure to carbonate the water.

Tonic water a remedy?

It was in 1870 that its use spread. Indeed, in the British Indies, soldiers are prescribed to take doses of prophylactic quinine in order to fight malaria, which is ravaging. However, quinine is very bitter: it is then mixed with sugar and water to facilitate its consumption. Schweppes was then inspired by these uses and embellished its carbonated water with quinine and citrus extracts, which gave birth to the Indian Tonic.

Plante de cinchona

What is quinine?

Quinine is above all a natural alkaloid, a molecule of plant origin with antipyretic, analgesic and antimalarial properties. The molecule is extracted from the bark of a shrub called cinchona. This shrub is found in South America.

THE HISTORY OF GIN AND TONIC

Verres de gin tonic

Where does Gin and Tonic come from?

Gin & tonic is a cocktail composed of gin, tonic water and citrus zest. It would have been created for the first time in the 18th century by Dutch and British colonial companies, but many believe it is a myth ...

This cocktail actually comes from the tonic water which was used to fight malaria as seen above. The taste of the quinine was too bitter. Sugar and alcohol (Rum or Gin) were therefore added to make it easier to take.
The association of gin and tonic water therefore brings about a very pleasant mixture and becomes more democratic among the British soldiers and colonists at the beginning of the 19th century.
The drink became very popular and we remember the famous phrase of Winston Churchill: "Gin and tonic saved more English lives and souls than all the doctors of the Empire".

Nowadays, tonic waters have been reworked and the bitterness is less. These go wonderfully with the Gin composed mainly of juniper berries.

How do you take Gintonic?

Glass :
Gin and Tonic is traditionally drunk in a tumbler-type glass (long drink or highball)
Nowadays Gin and Tonic is no longer served in a Balloon.

The doses:
The doses to make a Gin and Tonic vary but we generally find 1/3 of Gin for 2/3 of tonic.

Garnish:

Traditionally we use a lemon, slice or even a zest.
Depending on the Gin and Tonic we can use orange, cucumber, berries etc.

Add to GIN type
Recently, some people color the gin blue with clitoria flowers because it turns pink / purple when you add tonic.

TUTORIALS

Orange zest in the shape of a rose

Logo TheGinAddict noir

ARE YOU OVER 18?

Panier

ENVOI RAPIDE

Livraison offerte en France à partir de 150€ d’achat –  Paiement sécurisé

GIN & TONIC

Découvrez l'histoire du Gin et du Tonic

L' HISTOIRE DU GIN

Magasin de Gin

D’où vient le Gin ?

Le Gin qui a aujourd’hui tendance à se démocratiser dans de nombreux pays, a depuis longtemps une image dû à son histoire « So-british » qui lui colle à la peau ! Et pourtant…

L’histoire du Gin commence en Flandres (les Pays-Bas actuels), au 17e siècle sous le nom de Genever. On attribue souvent sa mise au point au chimiste et médecin Franciscus Sylvius. C’est à l’époque une eau-de-vie de céréales, généralement de seigle ou d’orge, aromatisée par macération de baies de genièvre qui permet de masquer les défauts d’une distillation encore très grossière. C’est le Genever flamand qui sert de modèle initial au Gin anglais du 18ème siècle.

Qui es-tu ?

C’est en effet lors de la Guerre de Trente Ans (1618-1648), que les soldats anglais guerroyant en Hollande découvrent une boisson nouvelle qu’ils ramèneront bientôt en Angleterre. Le Genever est couramment consommé comme remède contrer les aigreurs d’estomac, la goutte ou les douleurs provoquées par les calculs biliaires. On en sert aussi une rasade aux soldats pour les galvaniser avant de livrer bataille, et les anglais prennent vite goût à cet élixir, qu’ils appellent « Dutch courage » une fois retournés au pays. 

C’est en Angleterre que cette « eau de genièvre » connaît un nouvel essor à la fin du 17e siècle. On l’appelle « genever » puis « jenever » et enfin tout simplement « gin ». L’engouement pour ce nouvel alcool se propage au-delà des soldats de retour de campagne militaire en Flandres et est accéléré par l’abolition du monopole de la guilde des distillateurs de Londres en 1690 avec le Distilling Act.

A une époque de conflit religieux et politique entre la France et l’Angleterre et afin de limiter l’importation de brandy français, le Roi Guillaume III d’Orange passe une série de lois visant à restreindre l’importation de brandy et encourage la distillation d’eau-de-vie sur le sol anglais. Les méthodes de distillation sont rudimentaires et encore une fois, l’aromatisation grâce aux baies de genièvre est un excellent moyen d’améliorer la qualité gustative des eaux-de-vie.

Comment le Gin évolue-t-il ?

Le Gin, qui, à sa création, était utilisé à des fins médicinales devient vite récréatif… et dangereusement addictif. Cette eau-de-vie domestique et bon marché fait rapidement des ravages parmi les classes populaires urbaines.

Pendant des décennies, la consommation excessive de Gin de piètre qualité décime la population des quartiers miséreux de Londres notamment. C’est la sordide « Gin Craze » (1723-1757), la bien nommée « Folie du Gin ». En un siècle, le Gin est passé de « Dutch Courage » à « Mother’s Ruin » (le fléau des mères).

photo d'un marchand de gin

Il faudra attendre le 19e siècle pour que le Gin acquière ses lettres de noblesse en Angleterre. Les progrès technologiques (avec notamment l’invention de la colonne de distillation Coffey en 1831) font faire un bond qualitatif aux eaux-de-vie de céréales. L’Angleterre, première nation européenne à faire sa révolution industrielle est économiquement dominante et importe, grâce à sa marine, plantes aromatiques et épices des quatre coins de son empire. Le Gin monte en gamme. La crise du Phylloxéra ravage les vignobles de France et d’Europe et prive les classes aisées britanniques de leur apéritif préféré le Brandy & Soda, que le Gin & Tonic remplace rapidement. Le Gin est alors devenu respectable. Les distilleries se montent et grandissent, principalement dans les villes portuaires anglaises (comme Londres et Plymouth) où les distillateurs ont un accès direct aux épices et à un marché urbain prospère. Les grandes marques historiques britanniques de Gin (Plymouth, Tanqueray, Beefeater…) en sont toutes originaires.

Au 20e siècle, le Gin commence par prospérer : les progrès de la distillation donnent aux fabricants accès à un alcool de base parfaitement neutre, qui n’a plus besoin d’être édulcoré pour en masquer les imperfections. Le style de Gin « London Dry » (voir la page « Les Types de Gin ») s’impose alors, et devient dominant à partir des années 20. Le reste du siècle est chaotique : la Prohibition aux États-Unis puis la crise économique de 1929 et la seconde Guerre Mondiale s’enchaînent. Le Gin redevient populaire dans les années 50 et 60, synonyme absolu de style en cocktail comme avec l’emblématique Dry Martini, puis décline lentement. La fin des années 1990 et le début des années 2000 connaissent les prémisses d’une véritable renaissance de la catégorie, qui prend racine tout d’abord en Europe et gagne désormais le monde entier, grâce à la redécouverte de la personnalité et de la versatilité de cet alcool de grand caractère. 

LES TYPES DE GIN

Mais au final un Gin c’est quoi ?

alambic cuivre

Le Gin est un alcool distillé et aromatisé, principalement sur base d’alcool neutre, dont la saveur prédominante doit être celle du genièvre. Il doit être embouteillé à minima à 37,5% vol. Ce qui va donner sa personnalité à ce spiritueux, c’est principalement son aromatisation (et, plus rarement, sa base alcoolique si, comme certains gins modernes, il n’est pas distillé à partir d’alcool neutre). Les plantes aromatiques utilisées doivent toujours comprendre le genièvre (que ce soit des baies de genièvre ou un extrait déjà distillé). La plupart des gins sont élaborés par distillation d’un bouquet de plantes aromatiques (dont le genièvre) dans une base d’alcool (neutre le plus souvent). Les techniques de distillation et d’infusion varient, mais le principe fondamental reste le même : les huiles essentielles chargées des principes aromatiques des plantes sont extraites au contact de l’alcool (soit à l’état liquide si les aromates sont macérés directement dans l’alcool, soit par les vapeurs d’alcool à l’intérieur de l’alambic si le distillateur a choisi la méthode dite « d’infusion vapeur ») et collectées ensuite dans le distillat récupéré après condensation. Certains gins, plus rares, ne sont pas aromatisés par distillation (voir plus bas), mais soit par infusion simple soit au moyen d’extraits aromatiques ajoutés à une base d’alcool.

Il existe aujourd’hui 3 types de Gin défini par la législation de l’Union Européenne :

GIN (sans autre mention) : mélange d’un alcool de base (neutre la plupart du temps, mais ce n’est pas rigoureusement requis par la loi) et d’extraits de plantes aromatiques (dont le genièvre)

DISTILLED GIN : gin obtenu par distillation d’une base d’alcool neutre et de plantes aromatiques (dont le genièvre), auquel des extraits et arômes peuvent être ajoutés après distillation.

Les Gins élaborés par simple macération (c’est-à-dire sans re-distillation), très rares, portent l’appellation « Compound Gin » (« gin mélangé » en anglais).

LONDON GIN ou LONDON DRY GIN : gin distillé à base d’alcool neutre et de plantes aromatiques (dont le genièvre), auquel rien d’autre que de l’eau ne peut être aojuté après distillation pour en abaisser le degré alcoolique. Un London Gin ne peut donc être ni aromatisé ni édulcoré à la sortie de l’alambic. Il est donc forcément sec (« dry »). L’appellation « London Gin » ne correspond pas à une indication géographique protégée mais à un style de Gin. On peut donc produire un « London Dry Gin » partout dans le monde, pas seulement à Londres.

Et pour les autres types de Gin?

OLD TOM GIN : C’est un style de gin, non strictement défini ou reconnu par la réglementation européenne, inspiré des gins adoucis populaires à la fin du 19e siècle, puis supplanté par le London Dry Gin (non édulcoré, distillé à partir d’alcool neutre de meilleure qualité, dont il n’était plus nécessaire de masquer les imperfections par une forte édulcoration, et permettait ainsi une expression aromatique du genièvre et des plantes aromatiques beaucoup plus précise).

GIN « NAVY STRENGHT » : Dès le milieu du 17ème siècle, il est commun d’approvisionner de grandes quantités d’eaux-de-vie à bord des navires européens. Les alcools distillés, contrairement au vin ou à la bière, ne se gâtent pas après quelques semaines de mer, et permettent grâce à leurs propriétés antiseptiques d’assainir l’eau du bord. La flotte Britanniques s’approvisionne en Gin pour les officiers.
Les eaux-de-vie embarquées à bord des navires militaires doivent avoir un titre alcoométrique permettant à la poudre à canon de s’enflammer même une fois imbibée d’alcool. Ce degré minimum est de 57% vol., et marque le seuil « proof » en Anglais, déterminant ainsi les rhums dits « overproof » (titrant au-dessus de 57% vol.) et les Gins « Navy Strength » (au degré de la Marine).

YELLOW GIN : Le Yellow Gin n’est pas une appellation strictement définie dans la loi Européenne. Traditionnellement, un Yellow Gin est un Gin vieilli quelques mois en fûts de chêne.

SLOE GIN : Le Sloe Gin n’est pas techniquement un Gin, mais une liqueur à base de Gin. Il est fabriqué par macération de prunelles dans du gin, parfois avec d’autres plantes aromatiques, puis édulcoré avant d’être mis en bouteille.

BATHTUB GIN : Terme qui désigne le Gin contrefait élaboré au temps de la Prohibition aux États-Unis en mélangeant de l’alcool de contrebande et de l’huile essentielle de genièvre.

PINK GIN : A l’origine le Pink Gin est un cocktail à la mode en Angleterre au milieu du XIXe siècle, il doit son nom à la couleur marron foncé de l’Angostura, qui, lorsqu’il est dilué dans le gin, offre une couleur rosée au cocktail… Aujourd’hui de nombreuses maisons de Gin ont ravivé l’intérêt pour les mariages de saveurs toujours plus complexes en créant leur propre Pink Gin. On en trouve actuellement aromatisé à la rose, fraise, melon, etc.

L' HISTOIRE DU TONIC

Récipient portatif pour l'eau de Seltz

L’eau tonique est aussi appelée Tonic. C’est avant tout une boisson gazeuse mais elle contient aussi de la quinine, extraite d’un arbuste. C’est celle-ci qui lui confère ce goût légèrement amer.

Qui a inventé le tonic ?

Le tonic a été inventé par les deux pharmaciens français Pierre-Joseph Pelletier et Joseph Bienaimé Caventou. Ce sont eux qui, les premiers ont réussi à isoler la quinine.

Vers 1780, Johann Jakob Schweppe, horloger en suisse et passionné de chimie, trouve une méthode pour charger l’eau en dioxyde de carbone. Une réaction est faite en agitant de la craie et de l’acide sulfurique. Du gaz est ainsi obtenu, puis récupéré et mis dans un réservoir chauffé. Tout en chauffant, le mélange est agité afin de créer une pression pour gazéifier l’eau.

L’eau tonic un remède ?

C’est en 1870 que son utilisation se diffuse. En effet, dans les Indes britanniques, on prescrit aux soldats de prendre des doses de prophylactique de quinine afin de combattre la malaria, qui fait des ravages. Cependant la quinine est très amère : elle est alors mélangée à du sucre et de l’eau pour faciliter sa consommation. Schweppes s’est alors inspiré de ces usages et a agrémenté son eau gazéifiée de quinine et d’extraits d’agrumes, ce qui donna naissance à l’Indian Tonic.

Plante de cinchona

Qu’est ce que la quinine ?

La quinine c’est avant tout un alcaloïde naturel, une molécule d’origine végétale ayant des propriétés antipyrétiques, analgésiques et antipaludiques. On extrait la molécule de l’écorce d’un arbuste qui se nomme le quinquina. On trouve cet arbuste en Amérique du Sud.

L'HISTOIRE DU GIN ET TONIC

Verres de gin tonic

Le Gin et Tonic d’où vient-il ?

Le gin tonic est un cocktail composé de gin, d’eau tonique et de zeste d’agrume; il aurait été créé pour la première fois au 18ème siècle par des compagnies coloniales néerlandaises et britanniques, mais beaucoup pensent que c’est un mythe.

Ce cocktail provient en réalité de l’eau tonique qui était utilisée pour combattre la malaria comme vu ci-dessus. Le goût de la quinine était trop amer: du sucre et de l’alcool (Rhum ou Gin) étaient donc ajoutés afin de le rendre plus facile à prendre.
L’association du gin et de l’eau tonique amène donc un mélange très agréable et se démocratise parmi les militaires et colons britanniques au début du XIXe siècle.
La boisson devient très populaire et on se rappelle de la célèbre phrase de Winston Churchill : « Le gin tonic a sauvé davantage de vies et d’âmes anglaises que tous les médecins de l’Empire ».

De nos jours, les eaux toniques ont été retravaillées est l’amertume est moindre. Celles-ci se marient à merveille avec le Gin composé majoritairement des baies de genévriers.

Comment consomme-t-on le Gintonic ?

Le verre :
Le Gin et Tonic se boit traditionnellement dans un verre de type tumbler (long drink ou highball)
De nos jours le Gin et Tonic est plus servi dans un Ballon.


Les doses :
Les doses pour réaliser un Gin et Tonic varient mais on retrouve généralement d’1/3 de Gin pour 2/3 de tonic.

Les garnishs :

Traditionnellement on utilise un citron, tranche ou encore un zeste.
En fonction du Gin et Tonic on pourra utiliser de l’orange, concombre, des baies etc.

A ajouter à type de GIN
Depuis peu, certains colorent le gin en bleu avec des fleurs de clitoria car il vire au rose/violet lorsqu’on ajoute du tonic.

LES TUTOS

Zeste d'orange en forme de rose

Logo TheGinAddict noir

AVEZ VOUS PLUS DE 18 ANS?